Abigail Dalton

About Abigail Dalton

Abby Dalton has worked in publishing and the non-profit sector, first in New York and now in the Boston area. She currently works at a university in the northeast, and writes in her free time.

April 21, 2014

Family Under Fire: New Fiction from Carla Buckley

The Deepest Secret, for all of its own tragedy and human emotion, beautifully conveys what happens to families when their worlds are turned upside down, and they have to go on as we in the real world do every day.

April 2, 2014

From Frances Mayes, a New Kind of Memoir: Under Magnolia

Frances Mayes, beloved author of multiple memoirs of Tuscany, returns to her Southern roots for her latest work.

March 18, 2014

If You Loved The Goldfinch: The Anatomy Lesson

Longtime fans of art, neophytes, and fans of Donna Tartt’s The Goldfinch alike will find much to enjoy in Nina Siegal’s new novel, The Anatomy Lesson.

February 19, 2014

Before Sheryl Sandberg, There Was Elizabeth Patterson Bonaparte

Carol Berkin explores the life of one of history’s most interesting independent females in her new book, Wondrous Beaty: The Life and Adventures of Elizabeth Patterson Bonaparte

November 12, 2013

The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton: Man Booker Prize Proof

If one had initially regarded Eleanor Catton’s The Luminaries – a tome coming in at just over 800 pages – with skepticism at its length and subject matter, news of Catton’s Booker Prize should have assuaged any remaining fears that it would be a slog.

October 28, 2013

Thomas Keneally’s The Daughters of Mars: A Brilliant WWI Novel

The author of The Schindler’s List is back with a fantastic new novel following two sisters during the events of the first World War.

September 9, 2013

Jojo Moyes’s The Girl You Left Behind: Just the Right Kind of Escape

The Girl You Left Behind by Jojo Moyes is just the right kind of old-fashioned good story one needs in order to escape.

August 15, 2013

A Haunting Tale of a Whaling Family: The Rathbones by Janice Clark

The innermost thoughts of people under emotionally extenuating circumstances -- wives left alone for years at a time, children who never know their fathers, men at sea trained to slaughter and disassemble whales while afloat in the middle of oceans -- could lead any author into imaginative depths.

July 2, 2013

J. Courtney Sullivan's The Engagements: Tender at Its Heart -- and Smart

For fans of J. Courtney Sullivan’s Commencement and Maine, The Engagements will be a welcome addition to Sullivan’s collection of readable (and resonant) novels. For anyone who hasn’t yet picked up one of her smart and down-to-earth stories, The Engagements is a great place to start.

June 26, 2013

Short Stories Done Right: Rebecca Lee’s Bobcat

Short stories can be the busy reader’s manna from heaven – quick, snack-sized literary morsels that can sate those of us who don’t always have time to delve into a full-length novel.

June 4, 2013

The Latest from Let the Great World Spin’s Colum McCann

Transatlantic is a beautiful, sprawling novel that manages to avoid all the usual traps of stories that span continents and centuries. McCann’s story, rather than leave you unsatisfied with each of his vignettes of plot and character, makes you feel that these characters’ stories are perfectly placed, and part of a continuum that flows effortlessly.

May 15, 2013

A Read for Realists: Jonathan Evison's The Revised Fundamentals of Caregiving

Jonathan Evison's The Revised Fundamentals of Caregiving tells the story of Benjamin Benjamin, a somewhat unremarkable character whose career (if you can call it that) as a caregiver to a young man with muscular dystrophy belies a dark past and its rippling effect on his misery and self-regard.

April 11, 2013

Everything Is Going to Be Great! A Post-Collegiate Pre-Adulthood Memoir

In an age where it’s hard to walk two feet without tripping over an article or six about troubled Millennials and their current and upcoming failures, it’s refreshing to stumble upon a memoir like Rachel Shukert's, one that reminds us that our twenties are meant to be fodder for the cocktail parties of our thirties and forties.

April 2, 2013

Empathy Does Not a Good Story Make: James Salter’s All That Is

Are you familiar with the experience of reading incredible writing, a wonderful book -- and the protagonist is completely unlikeable? Meet Philip Bowman.

March 6, 2013

Louisa May Alcott as You've Never Seen Her Before, Courtesy of Harriet Reisen

In Louisa May Alcott: The Woman Behind Little Women, Harriet Reisen brings to life more fully than any biographer previously the full range of Alcott's moods, and the often troubling, rarely easy life that spurned the author to fame.